On July 6, 1964; Malawi was declared an independent nation.

Known as the “Maravi Confederacy” from the 16th through 18th centuries, this Kingdom was established by Bantu speaking peoples. The Kingdom spread across land that included what is now Malawi, Zambia, and Mozambique. This society was ruled by a King, or “Kalonga” and was centered on agriculture and trade.

Fast forward to post colonialism; Nyasaland declares independence as Malawi, and Dr. Hastings Kamuzu Banda becomes president.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s